Android Auto – Not Ready Yet

Pioneer AVH-4100NEX head unitI was pretty excited to get my Pioneer AVH-4100NEX head unit, which supports Android Auto.  I installed it yesterday, and much to my disappointment, Android Auto doesn’t work.  I banged my head against the wall for an hour or so before giving up.  Today I called Crutchfield tech support (Crutchfield is awesome, by the way), and they informed me that Google hasn’t yet released the required apps.  Apparently Google expected to hold back the release by a week, and that was on the 13th (of March, 2015).  So, who knows, maybe I’ll actually be able to play with my shiny new toy on Friday.  I’m not holding my breath, though, software schedules being what they are.

So, if you find yourself wondering why your brand new head unit doesn’t provide the one feature you bought the thing for, hopefully this clears things up for you.  I know there were no search results when I went looking.  🙂

Leave a Reply

